I Love Packing, I Hate Unpacking: Procrastination

I just finished a summer term at school. And when I say “just”, I mean I started moving on the 5th and hope to finish tomorrow. So when asked, “What have you been putting off doing?” I immediately thought, almost nothing. I’ve been productive since exams ended. I’ve been running errands, putting together a cosplay, catching up on TV shows, even started another novel I’ll probably never finish. Oh, and I made a WordPress account, which I’ve wanted to do for approximately 17 years. But there’s one thing I haven’t done: I haven’t unpacked. My bedroom floor is piled high with junk from my other bedroom and I have no idea where to put any of it.

Let’s take a quick inventory, which should serve nicely as the “why”. I have:

  • 3 backpacks
  • 3 purses (1 full)
  • a nun costume
  • empty shopping bags
  • 2 bins full of school supplies, lysterine, and a hair straightener (from my angle)
  • 1 tax textbook
  • 2 laptop boxes (??)
  • Full shopping bags holding things for the new apartment come January
  • 1 bin of binders
  • 1 laundry hamper with pillows, extra sheets, and various electronics inside
  • 1 empty shelving unit

I hate being a student. For 3 years now I’ve been jumping around from full-time school to full-time work, from living in student housing to living in my parents’ house. I’m living life 4 months at a time. This upended pile of junk was everything I had to my name just a couple of weeks ago, and now I have to pack it all away again so that my life can go in yet another direction as I begin yet another work placement. Curse this world where we need to be educated so that we can buy things. I should just marry rich.

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/2013/08/18/daily-prompt-time/

 

This entry was posted in Daily Prompts, Mindless Banter and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to I Love Packing, I Hate Unpacking: Procrastination

  1. Pingback: The Squawk of Unopened Books | Expressions

  2. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Procrastination | My Atheist Blog

  3. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Procrastination | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss

Thoughts?

