Inspire Me, Damn It

The Daily Prompt today didn’t do it for me (I would rather jump into Mount Doom than face the pressure of writing a new post for 10,000 new viewers) so I clicked on the “inspire me” button. It gave me a couple of options, but they didn’t do it either. I clicked on it 4 or 5 times. Finally, it came back blank, as if to say, “You know what? My inspiration isn’t good enough for you? Fine. Fine, then, I don’t have to put up with this. Inspire yourself, I’m outta here.”

I spent my morning at Service Ontario, to be fair. There’s nothing inspiring about Service Ontario, unless you like line ups and having mug shots taken. Maybe a real artist would talk about the people from all different walks of life congregating in one of the few places we all have to be at every now and then.

Anyway, as I have already disclosed my general location, I will add that a comic convention is coming to town as of 4:00 today, and staying until Sunday. I will be there the entire time, because sometimes, in a relationship, you have to make some sacrifices.

Now, don’t get me wrong: Conventions are fun. Comics are a great form of literature that I have never really gotten into (except for the odd Betty and Veronica Digest). And I am not one of those people who tries to hold myself above the “nerds”: I am proud to identify as a socially awkward, shy, near-sighted, unpopular, midnight opening of Harry Potter attending super-nerd.

No, my problems lie elsewhere. First of all, I’m an introvert (78% by Myers-Briggs), so public transit, huge crowded convention halls, and crowded sidewalks and lineups are basically my worst nightmare. Second, we have been planning like crazy for this one little event. I like to know ahead of time where I’m going to be and when I get to go home, and figuring that out is like pulling teeth (as I write this my boyfriend has already called twice to confirm plans and train schedules). Third, I spent my morning in line to get a new health card, and I feel like I need 10 espressos. Fourth… there are going to be people there.

I’ll close with this completely unrelated thought: I had to clean fingerprints and streaks off of our stainless steel appliances today, and it got me thinking about cleaning. What a futile activity. Our entire lives are basically just messing stuff up, cleaning it, and then messing it up again. Why bother?

This entry was posted in Mindless Banter and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Thoughts?

