Prompt Inception : A Little Sneaky

Are writing prompts a useful exercise, or do you find them to be too limiting and/or hokey?

 Afternoon, all, and welcome to yet another episode of Iced Cap doing a daily prompt after a week-long hiatus due to comic conventions and cottage adventures (more to come on those). And when I say “another episode”, I mean the first and probably last time those specific things will happen in succession.

Do I think prompts are useful? Absolutely. That’s why I do them. I found that when I joined WordPress two longs weeks ago, I didn’t know where to start, and these prompts allowed me to a) figure out what kind of things people write about, b) figure out what I want to write about, and c) be seen by other users, which does matter since having a blog with absolutely no exposure is kind of a waste of time.

But that wasn’t the question. Do you see how I took it in another direction in order to talk about something I wanted to talk about? Anyway, as a writing exercise, I say to each his own. To me, they are useful because they motivate me to spit some words out and put them up. Of course, I’ve already found a couple of prompts that didn’t do it for me, so I ignored them. Bottom line: If they work, do them. If they don’t, do whatever else you like to do. There is basically no substance to this opinion but I am all hopped up on Advil Cold and Sinus (drug of choice – my mom says one of the ingredients is also used in Meth, and she knows this from watching Breaking Bad. Who knew?)

If you don’t hear from me doing these prompts as I used to do in the glory days of last week, it’s because I’m having a spectacularly busy weekend filled with broadway musicals, airshows, labour day, and probably actually cleaning my room.

I hate life.

PS: Dream Alert – had one where I was starting a new year at high school, after a 3-year break I suppose. Had another one where my ex-boyfriend told me that his ex-fiancee (he is not engaged) was suing him for breaking up with her. My mind is so much more interesting when I am unconscious.

This entry was posted in Daily Prompts, Mindless Banter and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Prompt Inception : A Little Sneaky

  1. Pingback: The sky’s the limit | Life & Times

  2. Pingback: Three Good Reasons to Participate in the “Daily Prompt” | Cheri Speak

  3. Pingback: How do I really feel about writing prompts? | Rob's Surf Report

  4. Pingback: What if I was prompted? | Okay, what if ?

  5. Pingback: Daily Prompt: A Little Sneaky | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss

  6. Pingback: Daily Prompt – A Little Sneaky | Joe's Musings

Thoughts?

