I’m Insecure About My Masculinity : I Am a Rock

You don’t have to put up a fight
You don’t have to always be right
Let me take some of the punches
For you tonight

Listen to me now
I need to let you know
You don’t have to go it alone

 

– U2

Is it easy for you to ask for help when you need it, or do you prefer to rely only on yourself? Why?

I try not to go shopping with my boyfriend too often. Every time we do, it sparks the same argument:

“Look, let’s just ask someone where it is.”

“No. We’ll find it eventually.”

“Or we could save time and ask that guy.”

“NO! We’ll just go down the next few aisles-“

“It is their JOB to help us!”

“I don’t care, I’m not asking them!”

“Would YOU be pissed off if someone asked you to do your job?”

“YES.”

FYI, the completely unreasonable one, who refuses to ask for help and insists on wandering Wal Mart for hours, is me. And in case you’re new here, I am a woman.

Typically, the “not asking for directions” stereotype is associated with men. That, I assume, is because men feel pressure to live up to this “alpha male” thing that involves having buckets and buckets of pride, because society blah blah blah gender roles and whatever. You know.

I, too, feel pressure to live up to being “alpha male”. Seriously. I won’t ask for help, I want to be a bread-winner, and I always have to have the last word in an argument. Yeah, I don’t know what’s wrong with me.

Fortunately, I have sane people in my life to keep me grounded and remind me that I don’t have to do it all on my own. In fact, when I am close enough with someone, I can work up the nerve to ask for small favours (like, “hey, can I borrow a slice of bread? I promise I’ll give it back”, and “WHO WANTS TO OPEN MY CAN FOR ME TODAY???” [Can’t open cans. It’s my hamartia.])

But for some reason, my main problem revolves around food. I have a real problem accepting food from people. It probably has something to do with the masculinity issues I apparently have. Perhaps I was not close enough with my father when I was a young boy (i.e. never).

This entry was posted in Daily Prompts, Mindless Banter and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to I’m Insecure About My Masculinity : I Am a Rock

  1. Pingback: Daily Prompt: I Am a Rock – IT’S MY LIFE | Phoenix Flights

  2. Pingback: Daily Prompt: I Am a Rock | Motherhood and Beyond

  3. Pingback: Do I really need anyone’s help? | Rob's Surf Report

  4. Pingback: Do I really need anyone’s help? | Rob's Surf Report

  5. Pingback: Daily Prompt: I am a Rock | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss

Thoughts?

