Just Wait : Six of One, Half a Dozen of the Other

Write a six-word story about what you think the future holds for you, and then expand on it in a post.

Same bat time, same bat place.

Temporary work terms are a nice way to get a taste for the redundancy that is the “real world” I’ve been hearing so much about. “Just wait until you get to the real world”, they said when I was in grade 6. “Things are harder in grades 7 and 8.”

Then in grade 8, they said, “Just wait until you get to high school. Things change, then. No one’s looking out for you anymore.” Only, they were. And in high school, they said, “Just wait until University.”

Obviously things changed in post-secondary, but it was just details, like where my next meal was coming from (parents VS cafeteria). And still, my professors say to me, “Just wait until you get into the real world.”

I’m beginning to think that there isn’t a “real world”. I’m working now, and to be honest, I don’t see what all the fuss is about. Aside from the details, things are pretty much how they’ve been since early childhood. I have a full-time commitment on weekdays. I have weekends off. My parents still support me (albeit in different ways), I still have many of the same old friends, and just like always, it’s all about taking it day by day. The conflicts I face today may be more complex than the ones I faced in grade 6 (although not necessarily!), but they are relative to the skills and knowledge I’ve gained.

So when it comes to the future, I’m not anticipating any grand changes upon finally entering the “real world” when I graduate in 2015. I know that as soon as I get there, the first thing they’ll say is, “Just wait until marriage.” “Just wait until parenthood.” “Just wait until they go off to school.”

Must we spend our whole lives “just waiting”? Eventually it must come to a point where you say, “Just wait until you die”, and by then, you’ve wasted your whole life waiting for real life to start.

And yet that’s how it is, so I can tell you that my future is more of the same: waiting for the next thing to come along.

This entry was posted in Daily Prompts, Mindless Banter and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Just Wait : Six of One, Half a Dozen of the Other

  1. Pingback: Does six of one really equal half a dozen of the other? | Rob's Surf Report

  2. Pingback: I Blame The ‘Bridesmaids’ Movie For What We’re About To Do | Molly Greye

  3. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Six of One, Half a Dozen of the Other | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss

  4. Pingback: No Cigar For Me | thanks for letting me autograph your cat

Thoughts?

