World’s Laziest Editor : Sorry, I’m Busy

Tell us about a time when you should have helped someone… but didn’t.

I didn’t like this prompt when I read it, because I realized that answering the question would mean admitting that I am a horrible person.

I like to help people – or so I would have you think. The truth is that I don’t really like helping people, I just have an intense dislike of saying no to an innocent favour. That is how I got a reputation within my small social circle that I am the go-to person for having things edited: cover letters, research papers, 20-page essays on contemporary literature, 60-page papers on toxic waste… I’ve done it all. And I’ve done it all begrudgingly, because there are about a million other things I could have been doing with that time, like, say, sitting around staring at the walls.

But I can think of one time when I… well, I should have said no. I didn’t, but I did say something like, “Well, I’ll take a quick look at it, but I’m really busy with my own paper” (My paper took me half an hour). I had a few reasons for not wanting to help this person out: that is, she writes with all the style and flair of a poorly-written self-insertion Harry Potter fanfiction crafted by an 8-year-old, only less entertaining. Reading over her papers is an exercise of patience and resisting banging my head against a wall.

At 8, I wrote plenty of poorly-written self-insertion Harry Potter fanfiction. It is hilarious to read today, and I love my 8-year-old self for trying. I did not give her the same open-minded patience. I skimmed for grammar problems, then sent it back and said it looked fine. The reality was that she’d written over 1000 words, but hadn’t actually said anything.

Yes, I’m a bad friend. But there are some things none of us should ever have to endure in life, and half-assed writing is one of them. Even if you’re only writing a paper for a class you think is a waste of time, you should always try – it really does make a difference. It makes a bigger difference than grammar. Slapping a bunch of cliches together and filling in the blanks with fluffy meaningless words is not writing, it’s… well, it should be illegal, whatever it is. I just don’t understand how English teachers do this all the time. Reading things that people have put no effort into is so tiring, and I don’t know how to even begin to fix it – besides just putting a giant X through it all.

So, even though I should have helped a friend out and let her hand in something that wasn’t a waste of tree, I discovered that I am actually just too lazy to save the world form others’ laziness. Honestly, I’d do it again. Is that right? Probably not.

This entry was posted in Daily Prompts, Mindless Banter and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to World’s Laziest Editor : Sorry, I’m Busy

  1. Pingback: Until when I’ll say ‘Sorry, I’m busy’? | 3rdculturechildren

  2. Pingback: Sorry, I’m Busy: This is What I’ve Been Doing | Khana's Web

  3. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Sorry, I’m Busy | My Atheist Blog

  4. Pingback: I’m Sorry I Was Busy | The Silver Leaf Journal

  5. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Sorry I’m Busy | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss

Thoughts?

