Body Image and Stuff

It’s interesting that this Daily Prompt came up, because this has been on my mind lately. I recently joined this Diet Bet thing, which will mean that I get money if I lose a certain amount of weight in a certain amount of time (and make an initial investment, obviously). And the reason it’s been on my mind is because I am completely, 100% against the whole idea of it.

I think I have the most positive body image out of any girl my age I’ve ever met – or at least had this discussion with. And sure, I have thin privilege, but I’m more or less happy with the way I look, and feel no great motivation to change myself, “better” myself, or, to be cliche, look like the women in my Cosmopolitan magazines. I’m fine how I am, and I don’t think that losing weight makes people better. I make choices for health. I want to be able to walk up the stairs without feeling winded. I want to eat food that doesn’t make me feel sick or in pain after. Basically, I pay close attention to how I feel, and if something makes me feel bad, I don’t do it (I’m looking at you, Entire Box of Cookies. And juice cleanses. Ugh..

So I’m not interested in losing weight, at all. I just want the money.This is basically the easiest way to sum up my priorities.

Back to the point though: When I look in the mirror, the person I see is pretty insignificant. Everything that matters to me happens in my head. It doesn’t matter much what I look like, or what I’d change if I could, because there is so much more to me than my physical characteristics.

Obviously it matters a little bit, or I wouldn’t own makeup or spend all my money on clothes I never wear. But it doesn’t (and shouldn’t) consume my life, because there’s way more interesting things happening in my head than on it.

This entry was posted in Daily Prompts, Mindless Banter and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Body Image and Stuff

  1. Pingback: Of mirrors and reflections | Concentrate On Yourself

  2. Pingback: Mirror, Mirror:rorriM ,rorriM | Khana's Web

  3. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Mirror, Mirror | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss

  4. Pingback: The Clash/Daily Prompt, Mirrors | I'm a Writer, Yes I Am

  5. Pingback: Mirror, Mirror | Lead us from the Unreal to the Real

  6. Pingback: Daily prompt: Mirror Mirror | The Wandering Poet

  7. Pingback: Funhouse! | Edward Hotspur

  8. Pingback: Who? Me? | Words 'n Pics...

  9. Pingback: FOREVER FLAWED | hastywords

  10. Pingback: Always The Bridesmaid, Never The Bride | Pinstripes&Lipgloss

  11. Pingback: Mirror, Mirror | The Hickey Diaries

  12. Pingback: Mirror, mirror | Life as a country bumpkin...not a city girl

  13. Pingback: A Poetic Duet With Alex Hicks – “Silhouette of Distortion” | toofulltowrite (I've started so I'll finish)

Thoughts?

