A Woman’s Work is Drinking Wine and Watching Other People Wash Dishes, TYVM

Today’s Daily Prompt asks, “What’s the household task you most dislike doing?”

Try to picture my life for a sec: It’s dark. Either the curtains are shut or I’m up before the sun, I’ve lost track. But only one thing is certain: Winter is coming. Actually, two things are certain. I need a damn coffee, stat. I should probably also eat food.

So I grab my last mug and fill it with coffee (my roommate got up before me, God bless her). There’s no room so I stick it on top of the coffee maker. I have a bowl too – fate is on my side. I fill it with cheerios and rice milk. And then I open the cutlery drawer. The contents: One paring knife and a garlic press. So short of eating my cereal with a garlic press, my only option is to wash a spoon. In other words, my day is ruined.

Thanks a lot, spoons.

I couldn’t even find one in the sink, I had to go out into the living room to get one. They are under the masses and masses of dirty and mildly-used dishes that grace my countertop. Some are soaking for washing later in the week. Others are crusting over and turning unwashable. Others still are growing new life. Most are rinsed and ready to be quickly tossed through a wash cycle, if I ever get around to it.

Aren’t girls supposed to be neat and tidy, you ask? Well, leave your gender roles at the door if you come by my place, because dishes are men’s work IMHO. Or anyone’s work, really, as long as it isn’t me.

This entry was posted in Daily Prompts, Mindless Banter and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to A Woman’s Work is Drinking Wine and Watching Other People Wash Dishes, TYVM

  1. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Those Dishes Won’t Do Themselves (Unfortunately) | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss

  2. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Home | The Wandering Poet

  3. Pingback: Housework: Doing It And Doing It And Doing It Well | Edward Hotspur

  4. Pingback: The Camino Plan | Your Backpack Is A Portable Laundry Line: Washing Clothes on the Camino

  5. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Those Dishes Won’t Do Themselves (Unfortunately) | Nola Roots, Texas Heart

  6. Pingback: Daily Prompt; Home: I just hate it! | Words 'n Pics...

Thoughts?

