Domesticity and Me

Image

flickr/retroarama

Maybe if I could cook, I would feel more fulfilled in life. I mean, I am a woman after all. What have I been doing, wasting time learning about financial accounting? I should have been spending more time in the kitchen.

I’m actually being somewhat serious. I wish I could actually make food. Not because I am a woman, but because I have to eat in order to live and no one is here to cook for me. Here is a comprehensive list of things I know how to make:

  • Cereal
  • Toast
  • Chili
  • Pasta
  • Frozen vegetables
  • Peanut butter sandwiches
  • Scrambled eggs

I think that’s it. Becoming vegetarian this year meant that I had to branch out on my cooking (i.e. start adding chopped banana to my PB sandwiches), so I’ve started experimenting with some basic recipes. I also got a slow cooker, and with it I’ve made a decent chili and a first-attempt minestrone soup that feels more like another chili.

How do people even learn to cook? Is it practice? Should I maybe try a recipe more than just the one time? Maybe I should spend a couple days in the past where that was all I’d be good for, and then bring my domestic skillset back to the world where I can actually accomplish other things with my life.

There just isn’t enough time in the day for real food. It’s a good thing I can’t afford takeout, because if I could I guarantee I’d never cook again.

This entry was posted in Mindless Banter and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Domesticity and Me

  1. jenniferw19 says:

    I have been slowly learning to cook. Mine seems to come from finding recipes and wanting to try them out and gradually getting better at making what it is actually supposed to be! i think if you get a couple of staple recipes you can do well enough to eat most weeks then you can proudly say you can cook.

    And if anyone disagrees, I shall hit you with my spatula!

    • icedcappp says:

      I guess it’s like anything else, it takes tons of practice and not giving up!
      Thanks for your comment, and best of luck on your cooking journeys :D

  2. Marci says:

    Your repertoire sounds like mine before I got married, except sub out frozen vegetables for frozen pizza (same thing, really). Fortunately for me, my husband likes cooking. I hate it, and am content with cereal or take-out in the absence of said cooking-husby. I consider myself very spoiled! Good luck with that whole kitchening thing! ;)

    • icedcappp says:

      Thanks! :) I can actually make a pretty decent frozen pizza as well, although I do burn them occasionally… You’re lucky you found a live-in chef!

Thoughts?

