I Just Reached 1000 Followers!

When you’re a younger sibling, everything you do is because your older sibling did it first. My sister could draw better than me, so I started drawing. My sister went to dance classes, so I signed up too. My sister became a vegetarian in high school, and after YEARS of persuading, she finally converted me. And my sister writes.

It’s for that reason that I can give her credit for shaping who I am, as much as my parents ever did. As much as I consider myself a casual artist, a former competitive dancer, and an animal rights believer, I am nothing if not a writer. I remember the look on my grade 12 Writer’s Craft teacher’s face when I told him I was bound to university for accounting. He said, “you should be a writer”.

When I wrote my final reflection, I told him that I was. And I always will be, no matter what I study in school, or what I do for a living. Writing is in my blood. I haven’t stopped, not since I was 9 years old.

Come with me, for a moment, to those days. My parents have a home office, and they used to have the only computer with internet. It was there that my sister and I discovered Harry Potter fanfiction, and we crafted an idea for a comedy. We wrote in script, at the time. She typed, I offered suggestions, and we laughed a lot. This was one of our favourite things to do, once we got into it.

It was scary, doing it on my own, but I put myself out there. I wrote script comedies, under the penname “Strange”, in the Harry Potter Fanfiction genre. I knew I wasn’t as funny or talented as my sister, but I did it for fun. What I didn’t realize until later was that I was taking my first steps in honing the most important skill in my life. A skill which, soon enough, would skyrocket my English marks in school. No matter what anyone says, I refuse to believe that a person can just grab a pen and write. Practice is everything.

I got older, and my subject matter changed, although I stuck with script comedy fanfiction for a long time. Eventually I joined fanfiction.net and had to start writing in paragraphs based on their regulations, but I always wrote comedy fanfiction.

I wrote my first “dramedy” at 12 or 13, starring myself as a self-insert fanfiction character, as well as my friends, conveniently matched to other characters. Awful? Maybe. But reading it now, it makes me so happy, because it was such a big step in bringing me to where I am now. It was years before I decided to stray from the fanfiction scene, and change those names because the characters had become mine. It was years still before I started to form characters of my own, not based on me, a friend, or a show or book I liked.

I have what some people I know call a “head story” – the default storyline that you turn to in your mind when you have a moment of quiet thought. I am sure that I’ve surpassed 100,000 words in that world – 200,000 wouldn’t surprise me. Later, I started taking my old fanfiction stories and turning them into stories with integrity and varied characters, and finally, only within the last two years, I started writing from scratch. Now I’ve started a handful of novels, finished one of them (NaNo), and I keep starting new ones instead of finishing the old ones. But it doesn’t matter. I’m not doing this to publish, or to make a living. I’m doing it because I have to. A cat has to chase mice, a dog has to chew bones. I have to write. So I do.

A little less than a year ago, I went into a job interview. In that interview, they asked me to tell them about my hobbies. Unsure of what to say, I threw out there that I wrote. She replied, “Oh, do you keep a blog?” “No,” I replied, “But maybe I should.” I didn’t get matched with that job. (This year I did, and I am starting there in May.)

Then, in August, TYFLMAYC was born. And you all know the rest.

I want to take a quick moment to thank my 1,000 followers!

Thank you for hitting the “Follow” button.

Thank you for reading.

And most importantly, thank you for letting me autograph your cat.

XOXO

– C

(Written for the Weekly Challenge)

This entry was posted in Weekly Writing Challenges and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to I Just Reached 1000 Followers!

  1. Pingback: writing off the wall | litadoolan

  2. Pingback: Letters from the Silence – 28th March, 2014 | Wired With Words

  3. Pingback: Strange Tales of Living Windows, Goggle Soup and… Criminal Penguins? | Ramisa the Authoress

Thoughts?

